«Limani», «Potami», «Chorio», «Panigiri», «Paralia»


.
.
.
.
That’s the basic outdoor vocabulary for a young Greek tourist (usually a Studying the map of Ikaria by Anastasia Pafili on Instagram free camper) in Ikaria. Port, River, Village, Festival, Beach. It’s seems enough. I use the same to communicate. Why bother with elaborate details. It won’t help. The only thing it will get me is questions like «Are you from Ikaria and bring everything down to the level of family origins. No. Better leave it like this. Did you go to the «Potami«? I was at the «Paralia«. I had coffee in the «Chorio«. What time is the ferry from the «Limani«? The basic geography. I am no better. It’s long since I presented a map of my world in Ikaria. The one I am giving you here is by a Slovenian, yes a Slovenian from Lubliana who for several months has walked and driven all around Ikaria! Here is the link:
.

When you open the map, the blue pins open to boxes containing lots of information.

Well done, Jernej!

A similar in concept but very primitive thing was drawn by a storyteller years ago.
Map of Ikaria's nicest spots

Primitive but that’s cool too. Well done Eleni!

.

Update 1
.
This entry would be lacking if I didn’t add this map –the most viewed of all maps of Ikaria because it’s a tablecloth!!!
.
IMGP0051 by kostenoglou   by fliegender
.
Update 2
.
Yet, no matter how good or not a map may be, I doubt whether they are useful to a clueless summer hiker

 

(like a bored camper perhaps)
.
photo
.
to find our private, secret places
.
.
.
But if they do, I am sure they won’t be too many so I would gladly share.
.
 ° 
.
Wednesday March 4, 2009 – 08:04pm (EET)
.
.

Comments

(11 total)

Mazi sou!

Wednesday March 4, 2009 – 08:05pm (CET)

.

I hated it when I was younger and picked up hitchikers who said, «We are going to the Potami. Where is the Potami dude?»
Great entry. Up to the point of vocabulary and map making.

Thursday March 5, 2009 – 12:49pm (EET)

Efxaristo, Dharma!

AKK : must have felt like you were a department store assistant : «Hey dude, where is the stuff for the beach?»

Friday March 6, 2009 – 11:00am (EET)

.

Exactly as you say! Like a servant!
One of the reasons I got into map making was self-pride. No more «Take us to the Potami dude»!

Friday March 6, 2009 – 07:22pm (EET)

.

For the record I say that I made that map out of a «leave me alone» motivation so that my friends and go-bys remembered my instructions and ‘what-to-dos’ and I didn’t have to go with them.
I scanned the map I found in the original «Ancient Icaria» and typed and painted on it what I wanted to show. There were no trail network back then. Only the small «Round of Rahes» and … I had noted down «Trachilas» as a «nudist beach»!!!!!!!!!

Saturday March 7, 2009 – 03:31am (PST)

.

What I read in both maps is love for the place.

Saturday March 7, 2009 – 08:18pm (EET)

The place loved them. What they do is loving back.

Girl in Ratsos Ikaria 1

Saturday March 7, 2009 – 08:29pm (EET)

.

I suppose that an accountant knows everything about balance sheets.

Sunday March 8, 2009 – 03:00pm (EET)

That’s all we know in fact. Thank you 🙂 You are trained to credits, deficits -that stuff.

Sunday March 8, 2009 – 08:19pm (EET)

.

Hey, good job to update and save those two «tablecloth maps». Besides their value as photos, we have added many hilarious comments about tablecloth map making! Yes of course, this map is the most viewed and it gives a great subject for conversations at dinner time!

Tuesday March 17, 2009 – 09:49pm (EET)

thnx ~* that was the idea ;

Tuesday March 17, 2009 – 11:12pm (EET)

.

.
.

Σχολιάστε

